Environmental Awards 2019

2019 Ernestine I. Smith “Environmentalist of the Year”

Woody Hasting’s energetic work around organizing to stop new gas stations from being built in the County has been one of the success stories of the year. “Sometimes we win!”

Following a 2018 campaign in Petaluma to stop a gas station from being built next to a school, an effort began to stop a new gas station project on Hwy 116 near Cotati. This campaign was picked up and amplified by Woody and in the end the application was withdrawn.

Many people pitched in to stop the gas station projects, but Woody brought an urgency and clarity of purpose that has transcended the individual campaigns. He has engaged environmental groups around the County, and urged a forward-looking response to climate change – invest in building renewable energy, not obsolete fossil fuel infrastructure.

For the last decade, Woody has worked at the Center for Climate Protection, using his organizing skills to promote Community Choice Aggregation in general and the formation of our local CCA, Sonoma Clean Power.

Lifetime Environmental Achievement Award
When Pat & Ted Eliot moved to Sonoma County in the 1980’s, they began volunteering to preserve open space and create public trails. They were involved in passing the ballot measures that set up and funded the Agricultural Preservation and Open Space district.The Eliots helped create the Sonoma Mountain Preservation Group and the Sonoma leg of the Bay Area Ridge Trail, and advocated for open space in the upcoming plan for the future of the Sonoma Developmental Center. Between them they supported and served on the boards of Landpaths, the Cornell Laboratory of Ornithology, Madrone Audubon, Point Blue Conservation Science and many other organizations.

Their actions helped to permanently save open space in Sonoma County and to open it up to the public.

Environmental Awards 2019 Read More »